September Birchbox Review 2017

 

September Birchbox Review

Click here to get 50% off your first Birchbox and £5 off any product in the Birchbox Shop!

Is anybody else suddenly shocked that we are in September?! Where has this year gone… However, one good thing is that another month means another Birchbox. This month’s box sees a collaboration between Birchbox and Oliver Bonas and the theme is ‘work hard, play hard and be kind’. We were given the option to choose our boxes design and I chose ‘The Lucinda’ as I enjoy how bright and colourful it is. Oliver Bonas have kindly included a 15% off discount code and some snazzy stickers in the box too, which is a nice touch.

DSCF8513

Arrow – FULL SIZED Boost Colour Enhancing Lip Balm RRP £11

DSCF8520

So essentially this is just a lip balm, right? Wrong. The clever people at Arrow claim that this lip balm “adjust to your unique pH to create the perfect, just-for-you hue” (try saying that after a few drinks!) I will admit it does have a shimmery pink-ish colour to it and smells amazing, but I don’t know if I’m convinced by the science.

Polaar – IcyMagic Instant Eye Contour Energiser RRP *£22

DSCF8518

I don’t usually suffer with dark circles so I’m not sure how much use I will get out of this product, but it does feel refreshing when applying. I struggled initially to get the roller-ball working, but if you are persistent it does work!

Beauty Protector – Protect and Detangle RRP *£18.50

DSCF8522.JPG

Yet another leave in conditioner type product… As I have said in these reviews before, these types of hair products usually do not work for me so it’s annoying that I keep receiving them. I’m personally not a fan of the packaging of this item. I think it looks a bit tacky and it did initially put me off. The product claims to detangle, minimise frizz, protect colour and add shine to your hair. I’ve only tested it once so far and I can’t say I noticed much of a difference to my hair, just some added shine. It does smell lovely though.

Dr. PawPaw – Original Clear Balm RRP *£6.95

DSCF8526

No, you’re not seeing things! There are two balms in this month’s box, however Dr. PawPaw claims that this product is a multi-purpose balm suitable for split ends and sunburn as well as a general moisturiser. I love that it is a natural product with healing ingredients, however the consistency does make me wary about using it as a moisturiser. It did feel lovely and smooth on my lips.

Manna Kadar – FULL SIZE Fantasy 3-in-1 Blush, Highlighter, Eyeshadow RRP £15

DSCF8517.JPG

This product was the sneak peek last month so I was really excited to get my hands on what I had been told was a prestigious brand! Unfortunately, my product arrived smashed (Birchbox are kindly sending a replacement) so it was hard to fully appreciate the quality and finish. Having tested this as an eyeshadow, I love how shimmery it is and the colour is darker than I expected. It would be a great addition to an autumnal look. This being said, I’m not convinced that is it worth £15. It doesn’t feel any better quality than a drugstore eyeshadow and doesn’t wow me. It would make a good day-to-day highlighter if you were going for a more natural look.

Overall, I think I am a little disappointed in this month’s box. There isn’t a product in this month’s box that I could say I really love or am excited to use again, which is a shame. Also, aside from having two balms (which I really think Birchbox could have avoided) and yet another hair product that I won’t use, my box was also 3-4 days later than everyone else’s. It was also slightly annoying to see that some people had received more high end products in this months box (Benefit, Sand&Sky) whereas most of the people I have seen reviewing or have spoken to have had duplicate products like myself. I will stick with Birchbox for another month as I have emailed them this review, but I may consider changing to another brand of box if they don’t improve.

*RRPs correspond to full-size items which can be purchased from the Birchbox Shop.

This post is not sponsored or endorsed by Birchbox or any of the brands featured. Opinions are completely my own.

One thought on “September Birchbox Review 2017

Leave a Reply

